D-I-Y carpet installation

Posted: December 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

We have always planned on refinishing the hardwood floors in our home, but with projects slowing to a near stop it doesn’t seem like a bad idea to explore other options.  Carpeting the upstairs would be a much easier route to go for flooring.  It’s not something I had really considered a D-I-Y project before.  However after doing some research on installing carpet, it seems so straight forward.

  • Clean the floor
  • Put tack strips down
  • Lay the carpet padding
  • Install carpet.

However, I feel like this adventure will turn into many of the projects I’ve seen some home improvement television show.  Somehow an easy-looking weekend project on T.V. turns into a week-long nightmare for me.  While I don’t think we are starting this project too soon, it is useful to know it is an option.

Leave a Reply

